Geeks logo

A Hero Too(The Owl House One Shot)

This piece has lived in my partially done section for well, probably the end of S2, and I decided to finish it. I messed with the timeline a lot so Amity and their other friends were in with the CATs when Luz made her palisman. Like in the cannon, Luz doesn't know what to carve and asks Amity for help. Her help comes in the form of a song that Luz played for her and she fell in love with. The song is Hero Too from My Hero Academia

By Ben Ray Published about a year ago 6 min read
Like
screen shot of Luz and Amity looking at each other while holder hands with a black to purple gradient and the title in white on top.

I know I’m changing the timing of some things but I wanted to write this.

Eda opened the box labeled “Eda’s longest toenail,” and took out the chunk of palisman wood,

“You ready Luz?” she wanted to share this moment with her daughter almost as much as she wanted Luz to have that extra protection of a palisman.

“Um, Eda, I know that you kinda wanted it to be a bonding thing for us but would it be possible for Amity to be here too? Just to help me figure out what I want to carve?” Luz’s voice got high-pitched as if afraid of Eda’s answer. She knew that she had no reason to be afraid but she didn’t want to force Eda into missing out on this one on one time.

“Yeah, sure go find Boots I’ll wait here,” Eda forced the disappointment out of her face but nodded. She knew what it was like to be young and in love. As the human ran off, she found herself scanning the part of the camp that she could see for that mint green hair that was now graying. she wished she could just go up to them and tell them that she never got over them, wished for their gentle embrace. War was a bad time to confess feelings. She didn’t want to finally get them back, just to lose them.

She was brought out of her thoughts when the two teens approached, holding hands. As much as she acts like it’s sickening, it's just her way to mask her envy.

“Ok so Luz, are you now ready to figure out your pailisman?”

The human looked down and slowly shook her head, “You said that our palisman need to show off who we are and want to be but I still don’t know what that is.”

Amity grabbed both of her girlfriend’s hands hoping that she would look up at her. She didn’t.

She started to sing a song from what Luz called an anime. She liked it so much that Luz even lent her her phone overnight so she could listen to it on loop. She didn’t tell her girlfriend why she liked it so much. It was too embarrassing, the song made her think of Luz.

She called out the words in Japanese before the music started.

“What am I to be?

What is my calling?

I gave up giving up

I'm ready to go”

~

Luz curled her lips slightly, while Eda watched in silence, arms crossed, with a faint smile as she saw what Amity was trying to do, despite not knowing the song. She knew the power of music. “This song is made for you Luz,” her voice was gentle. Luz sang the next verse with her.

~

The future's left unseen

It all depends on me

Putting on the line

To follow my dreams, yeah

~

“We don’t know the future, it isn’t all on you, I know that you feel like you have to save everyone all the time but look,” she gestured to CAT's hideaway, then Eda, who watched was about to leave. “You have them, and you have me, Eda, and King, and Gus, and Willow and Hunter and so many others!”

~

Tried all my life

I tried to find

Something that makes me hold on and never let go

~

“That’s who you are to me, I want to hold you on and never let you go.”

“I don’t want to lose you either.”

During the last few lines, Eda slipped away, not wanting to intrude on their romantic singalong, the teens didn’t notice as they sang the next part together.

~

“Ooooh!

Hero too

I am a hero too

My heart is set

And I won't back down

~

“You never do,” Amity sighed happily.

~

Hero too

Strength doesn't make a hero

True heroes

Stand up for what they believe

So wait and see

So wait and see

~

“Like you.”

~

What do they think of me?

What do they think I'll be?

I could not care less

I don't want to know

~

“You never cared about that, you’re always just Luz,” she tried to not think about all of the people who judged her on Earth.

~

Am I doing right?

Am I satisfied?

I want to live my life

Like it's meant to be, yeah

~

Luz realized that despite being about to go face a power-crazed dictator that planned on killing everyone, she was satisfied with her life, if only her mom was there too, but not in danger just still in her life.

~

Tried all my life

I tried to find

Something that makes me hold on and never let go

~

Luz thought of all of the people in the boiling Isails that care about her.

~

Oooooh!

Hero too

I am a hero too

My heart is set

And I won't back down

~

“You never back down,” Amity told her the break in the lyrics fully grounded her.

~

Hero too

Strength doesn't make a hero

True heroes

Stand up for what they believe

So wait and see

~

“You again,” Amity whispered, you can't do magic like all of the other witches so you created all of this glyph magic, you wanted to be a witch and you found a way to become one," she paused looking into those sparkling brown eyes before continuing.

~

People will judge for no reason at all

Yeah they might try

To say your dream's dumb

Don't listen

``

They may look down on me

And count me out

I'm going my own way

They may look down on me

And count me out

I'm a hero

I've got music

~

“When you came here no one thought you’d ever be able to do anything, but here you are an amazingly strong witch,” it was then Luz finally realized why Amity sang this song. Her voice oozed with confidence.

~

Hero too

I am a hero too

My heart is set

And I won't back down

~

Amity just smiled, that’s my Luz, she thought.

~

Hero too

Strength doesn't make a hero

True heroes

Stand up for what they believe

``

Yeah I'll be!

``

Hero too

I am a hero too

My heart is set

And I won't back down

``

Hero too

Strength doesn't make a hero

True heroes

Stand up for what they believe

So wait and see

``

I have met so many heroes in my life

Give me strength and courage to survive

``

Gave me the power to smile every day

Now it's my turn

To be the one

To make you smile”

~

“You always make me smile Luz.”

She smiled back, “Oh Amity, you make me smile too,” she went in to kiss her on the cheek, before impulsively changing her mind and giving a peck on the lips. Amity turned bright red, their second ever mouth-on-mouth kiss ever.

Luz jumped backward, away from her girlfriend. “Oh, Amity I’m so sorry! I thought that since you kissed me back when I was breaking you out of your room and you kissed me on the lips I could kiss you on the lips I’m so sorry!-”

The with cut her apology short. “No, Luz it’s fine I was just surprised, that’s all, it was nice,” she rubbed her arm, avoiding eye contact, face flushed.

They looked at each other blushing. “So hero, do you know what you want as your palisman?”

“Yeah, it’s own hero,” she responded, thinking of the first two lines. After a moment, Luz realized that Eda disappeared while they were singing.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I hope that you like Story, I have several other stories for The Owl House out and more to come! Subscribe so you don’t miss out! To find the stories I already posted, along with my other works, including a series about Raine figuring out their gender. Go to THIS LINK containing an organized easy to navigate google document.

Please, heart, tip, subscribe, and tell your friends!

-----Ben

fan fiction
Like

About the Creator

Ben Ray

I have poems and series and one shots. I keep a google doc with organized summaries and listings of each story and all of the parts that I've posted.

docs.google.com/document/d/1peKsDklUnqcKA1MjpZpPpYj9WuR-XI5P0U4ajbckmTI/edit?usp=sharing

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.