Pride logo

NippyFan

For the love of Whitney....

By Dayna ClarkPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
7

Back in the day, I’d party in NYC. I wasn’t gay, per se, or aware of my potential to “play for the same team.” But I most certainly partied my ass off in gay clubs. I’d even recruit friends to come with me, who had zero “tendencies” and just couldn’t understand for a second, how I did. I recently told one of my friends, “I can say what I prefer because I’ve tried both. So you might be, but don’t know it, because you haven’t tried it”. She’s been one of my besties since High School and I can honestly say, her picture should be featured under the definition of “hetereosexuality”. She’s not judgmental or funny style about it, just not about it. But, she would sometimes grace me with her partying presence and when the last song at the blackest, gayest lesbian club in New York City would drop, she’d hit that dance floor hard. A lot of my friends would just come with me because “damn, it’s fun to just dance my ass off and not worry about some guy humping on me.” My friend screamed this in the middle of the dance floor, surrounded by women who surely would’ve taken her home that night, but respected her space and fun. So we all just danced. That last song that made wallflowers slide to the dance floor and bloom, was “I was born this way” by Carl Bean. Carl Bean is now an ArchBishop. And that’s levels. This is a remake, but this is the version that brought down the house every club night. Nanny’s is long gone, but I still have that anthem song in my vinyl collection.

Could be my self-appointed title of “protector of all women” could be that I have deep, deep Mama issues, or could be that she’s undeniable, but every single song Whitney Houston has ever recorded is my official pride playlist. Last song on this playlist, would still be “I was born this way” though.

I developed an obsession for Whitney Houston right out the gate. I obsessed, but can’t say I was attracted to. Though her beauty is undeniable. In my lifetime I was around her many times and I didn’t get the usual tingle, though I was always over several moons about being in her presence. But, I somehow feel she was my guide to getting me to realize who eventually would.

Whitney’s first release was “You give good love”. I was too young to have any idea what the hell she was talking about, but I knew I loved the woman with the magical voice who was just standing on stage with her microphone, hypnotizing me. She could’ve been forging an army to lead right into the depths of hell and I was ready to sign right on the dotted line. I’ll (attempt) to narrow down the list of music, because, well, she has quite the catalog.

I love a good Nippy remix. Nippy, her childhood nickname given to her by her father. Oh, I’m serious about my love for Whitney Houston. Just writing this piece, is a form of therapy as I still shed tears when her songs play. It’s a process. I’m working on it.

I spent most of my formative years stalking Whitney Houston. I mean we’re both Jersey girls, so that’s normal, right? I wasn’t going to miss a concert. I feel like I skipped all concerts by other artists because I was so focused on seeing this treasure. I interned at Arista Records. I had no experience, wasn’t in school at the time, but I had no fear. And have always told myself I want to live a life of no regrets (I regret not buying Apple Stock when they first had those bright colored laptops though.) But I wrote a letter and got a call a few weeks later. I was up in the building y'all. Trying to keep my cool and pretend I wanted to work in the music industry. All I cared about was Whitney Houston. This experience was one of the best of my life. I eventually DID begin to care about working in the music industry and had so much damn fun. Apologies in advance, I can’t begin to go there.

I knew the hotel Whitney stayed at when she performed in New York. And I’d head right to that hotel after her concerts. One night, she was in the hotel restaurant with a few folks. Not a big crew. Bebe Winans was there. Being a person who has always followed my bliss and thought about consequences as they pop up, I was in there ordering up drinks at the bar. I was trying to pretend I was supposed to be there (I had no business being there). And that I could afford it. (I could not afford it). Two of my buddies were with me and my bestie, who doesn’t drink was the designated savior. I rode home in the trunk of my own car that night.

At the RIHGA Royal, one drink was the mortgage in a modest home. I had five. Whitney was just sipping tea. Caring for her voice after the show. Five Whiskey and ginger ale’s gave me dumb person’s courage (and a hell of a hangover). So when Whitney made eye contact with me, I pointed to our drinks as in, "You got this?" And guess what? She got that. My whole body fills with joy when I think of that crazy night. Because she also came over and I was so twisted, I had to aim to shake the hand of the Whitney in the middle.

"I wanna dance with somebody (who loves me)"

“Queen of the Night”

“I’m Every Woman”

“I Belong to you”

“I’m your baby tonight”

I have twelve inch versions on vinyl, with a million remixes and they fill my soul.

“Didn’t we almost have it all” The video for this song was her performing live at Wembley Stadium and I usually can’t pick favorites, but it’s my favorite. She sings the ever loving hell out of that song. I mean, something not of this simple earth.

So basically my pride playlist starts with Whitney Houston, goes on forever, and ends with, “I was born this way” Archbishop Carl Bean’s version. And possibly after a long silence, the bonus song would be the live version of “Didn’t we almost have it all.” And then “Hurt so bad”. I’m trying to wrap it up.

I love me some odd ass me. And I will always be the number one Nippyfan.

Pride Month
7

About the Creator

Dayna Clark

I'm a bad motherwriter.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.