Potent logo

The Struggles Of Making Edibles At Home

The journey is long but the reward makes it worth it in the end.

By Kate RosePublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
The Struggles Of Making Edibles At Home
Photo by Alex Woods on Unsplash

The reason I have attempted to make edibles at home comes down to a few things, price and availability. A few years ago weed was legalized in Michigan and at the time dispensary for the public were just opening up and there was not one in my area.

Finally, after they opened they had high prices due to there not being much competition with other shops. Along with that though edibles can be expensive in general or not available sometimes as well. Making them at home is not that hard if you can get the right ingredients.

Right as dispensaries were opening I had a great idea to make cannabutter with flower. To make cannabutter you first need to decarb the flower then I used a double boiler to infuse the flower and the butter for 4 hours. Making the butter made the whole house smell bad but I continued. With the butter, I made some brownies thinking that, that is what everyone else does I should.

By Michelle Tsang on Unsplash

They tasted horrible though were barely edible and defiantly tasted like weed, and gave you a couch lock. Although it was a fun high the taste was unenjoyable. After making these brownies at home I decided never to do it again.

I did however have friends that would give me homemade edibles every once in a while and even those homemade edibles always tasted bad. The only time they were somewhat okay was when they were made with Keif instead of the flower. I think that the weed being more potent but having less in the butter helped the taste a lot.

I enjoyed the high that I got out of edibles and wanted more but at an affordable price. So after having that edible made out of keif I decided to try my own. I had saved up some by shaking a dime in my weed for a few weeks and then took all of the keif I had accumulated and decarbed it. After doing that I did the infusion method and strained with a cheesecloth.

Just like that a day later I had made my butter I took it and made fruity rice crispies as I had had that at the dispensary and it seemed to cover up most weed flavor. They did end up tasting good a little weedy but gets covered up after the first bite.

By Jonathan J. Castellon on Unsplash

However, they did not get me very high showing that what I had used was not potent enough because I did not know how to dose it out and really couldn’t since I didn’t know what the THC percentage was in the weed that I got the keif from.

After I made these I started going to open recreational shops since they were lowing their prices and having deal days when I would go. I learned how good edibles can taste that the ones that they sell you cannot even taste the weed. It was still relatively expensive and there is so much sales tax on the goods.

Although everything that I had worked well and I learned how many mg I enjoyed in edibles and what strains I want to go into them. It was at this point that I had a great idea.

I had found RSO on sale at my dispensary and although it had never been available there before I had heard it was good for edibles really easy to use and although it does taste like weed it is concentrated so you can cover it up quite easily. I was able to plan for the dosage since I knew the percentage of THC in the RSO and planned to make the right number of servings to make them the strength that I wanted.

By Kimzy Nanney on Unsplash

I made fruity rice crisps since it worked so well last time to cover up the taste and honestly is a delicious treat. They ended up tasting good once again there was a slight bit of weedy taste when you take the first bite but after that, the fruity pebbles do a good job of covering it up.

These were made from an Indica dominant hybrid and although they did make me relax I felt very inspired as well wanting to curl up and write something new it was a great feeling.

Edibles always give you a different high from smoking and the strains used can have even more of an effect than smoking different strains. Always be careful and know what you are ingesting so you know how it will affect you. Take a little at first if there is no dosage and wait a long time then take more than a long time always be careful when taking something that you do not know what is in it or where it has been.

Thank you for reading!

By Esteban Lopez on Unsplash

cooking
Like

About the Creator

Kate Rose

I am a 21-year-old college student in Michigan.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.