Potent logo

Nearly Up In Smoke

Stupidity

By KJ AartilaPublished about a year ago 3 min read
5
Nearly Up In Smoke
Photo by Jaroslav Devia on Unsplash

I never did drugs - except the one time. Alcohol, yes; too much. And I tried smoking cigarettes when I hit the bar scene, but that was gross and I never was “good” at it, so I quit trying. I still don’t understand the allure of smoking, especially as you get older, but to each his own, I guess. The same is said for drinking. I don’t much care for beer anymore, rum or cheap vodka, but I do like wine. I used to drink beer all the time. And shots of Tequila. Guys were impressed. I don’t do that anymore.

The one and only time I tried weed, I was thirty years old, very drunk and strongly encouraged by my (now) ex-husband. (Jackass.) I decided it would be a good idea to go out to the very dark parking lot of the backwoods bar and get into the car with this complete stranger. I don’t think I even knew his name, nor him, mine. He was a large, stoned man - I was a skinny, way drunk girl. And my husband thought this was reasonable. He essentially sent me out the door alone with a man who he didn’t know, either. At a bar. Surrounded by forest.

I got into the car. He opened and closed the passenger side door for me. What a gentleman. Then he got in on the driver’s side, pulled out the pipe and the lighter and handed it to me. I did as I had only seen it doeo on television, lighting the bowl (I don’t even know the terminology), took a drag and pass it back. We shared, I guess. He complemented me on my technique - Yay me! - and we went back into the dark and crowded bar. Luckily, nothing happened, but it was a stupid scenario.

I was already so incredibly drunk, I don’t remember feeling the effects of the pot, except that I was grinning too much. That could have been the alcohol, though. I tend to smile a lot, anyway.

One of my friends was there when I hadn’t seen in while She was there with her husband, who I had not met. They had been bar-hopping. It was good to see her, probably would have been better if I hadn’t been so messed up. She had a son who was about my age. He wasn’t there, but had always been a little on the “wilder” side from the way she talked. I never met him either, but I’m guessing she was familiar with my behavior. She was, as always, gracious, non-judgemental, and even invited us (my husband and me) to dinner! Or something - I don’t remember what the invite was for exactly. We never followed it up.

There was a woman at the bar who we also ended up speaking with a bit. Her alter-ego was apparently Crystal Gayle (a classic country star) with her long, dark hair and vocal desires. She ran around singing the country song “Crazy” all night. She was actually pretty good, as far as I could tell. Always an interesting cast of characters roaming the hick bars of the Northern woods. This was not a bar we frequented, but made drinking buddies and knew too many people, anyway. Small world.

So that was my only direct experience with marijuana. Overall, the experience itself was anti-climatic, but I would definitely not recommend trying it in such a scenario! I don’t think I could have been more irresponsible.

Thanks for reading! Have you put yourself into incredibly stupid-dangerous situations due to inebriation? Who hasn’t, right?

marijuana minute
5

About the Creator

KJ Aartila

A writer of words in northern WI with a small family and a large menagerie.

My Substack

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Well written and thank you for sharing. Delighted that nothing bad happened!!!

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    Yes we all seem to do a lot of dumb things from where younger. Fortunately for you, in this situation, nothing bad happened.

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    This was fun to read; I think most of us have an experience or two similar to this one. ☺️ Thank you for sharing!

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Impressed you shared this, lol! I have a few too many stories that will not go further than the people who were present - ha!! Great writing :) I enjoyed the read.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.