Potent logo

BC Sweet Skunk & Skyway Kush

"Looks aren't everything" is more important to remember than you probably think it is

By John DodgePublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
Photo from the author

This particular review article has been on my mind for a while now, but I haven't really found the appropriate words to convey my thoughts about the first of these strains until recently. While I am always honest, open, and as objective as possible in my reviews, I'm also not trying to overly critical or demeaning towards any strain or company that doesn't deserve it. When it comes to these specific strains and those of the next cannabis review, achieving all of those things has been more difficult than is typical. Now, please don't go into this review thinking these are bad strains, because they aren't. It's just that a lot of good, bad, and ugly weed is misleading on the surface, and that's something important to highlight across the board. It just needed to be done without sounding like an asshole, and that took some extra time and care to accomplish.

BC Sweet Skunk

Photo courtesy of cannabissensei.com

Let me preface this entry by saying that I am very, very high right now. It took me a while to expect that from a $25 eighth that doesn't particularly impress when it comes to looks, smell, or taste, but holy shit have I gotten used to it. With the exception of this article, I don't smoke this when I need to work. I don't smoke this when I need to take my daughter to an appointment. I don't smoke this when I need to do anything, really. It isn't that this is bad working weed, rather that this is bad focusing weed, and I don't think anyone would expect such specific and potent qualities from bud that is so generic in almost every other aspect. The smoke is relatively sweet up front, but soon gets uncomfortably hot as the typically dry bud burns up faster than it can be appreciated. Everything else about it on a superficial level is just unsuspecting, and I cannot properly convey how astounded I am every time the slightly delayed effects of this bud kick in. For a sativa dominant hybrid strain that is advertised as only having between sixteen and twenty-one percent THC, I can't not be a little blown away. Pure Laine (or Pure Wool for Anglophones) Cannabis is quickly finding a place on my list of producers to cover in a future article, and their BC Sweet Skunk is already well on its way towards ending up as the highlight of it. The high doesn't last especially long, and has a bit of a comedown associated with it in my experiences, but those don't detract from how enjoyable it is in any meaningful way unless you're caught smoking it when you really need to be doing something other than vacuuming the lawn.

Skyway Kush

Photo courtesy of Chamba.ca

This breed of Skywalker Kush (labeled as Skyway, for some reason) by Indi Cannabis is a solid deal at $24 an eighth, though it might not seem like it at first glance. The dense buds are comprised of tight flower that is a great consistency for smoking, but somewhat difficult to break up by hand. The earthy, herbal aromas that it gives off can easily go unnoticed, as faint as they are, which well enough describes the flavor. Its taste when smoked is an series of pleasant floral notes, but once again they are so delicate that they might not be picked up out of an unclean pipe. The smoke stays cool all the way through, which is especially nice, and finishes on something resembling coconut when burning out. As far as the high goes, this is a heavy indica strain sitting between twenty and twenty-three percent THC. And yet again, the high itself is hardly recognizable if you're expecting a deep physical sensation, because this strain is far too uplifting to ever describe its effects as having gotten me "stoned." This is an indica that I can write to, or take detailed notes while indulging in. The high might not last particularly long, but it doesn't have much of a comedown, either. The more I write about it, the more I am tempted to add this to my favorites list on my SQDC profile. I'm not sure that I will, just because there are other strains that do the same thing a little bit better for me, but I'm certainly keeping this one in rotation in my cupboard.

John Dodge can be found writing about comic book nonsense fulltime at CBR.com. He can also be found occasionally remarking on other nonsense on Twitter and Facebook, and also sometimes about Magic: the Gathering on Twitter again. If you liked this article, then you should hit the little heart button and/or share it on social media and/or click some links and see what else the author is up to and/or maybe all of those things so he can stop trying to pay his bills with and/ors, ya dig? Tips are also nice, and more greatly appreciated than you can imagine. If you send exactly $24, it will immediately go towards more Skywalker Kush, and that's a promise.

strains
1

About the Creator

John Dodge

He/Him/Dad. Writing for CBR daily. Follow me on Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram for assorted pop culture nonsense. Posting the comic book panels I fall in love with daily over here. Click here if you want to try Vocal+ for yourself.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.