Potent logo

Ultra Sour & Diesel

Let's just talk about really good weed for a minute.

By John DodgePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Photo from the author

Hello again, or for the first time if that's the case, and welcome to me talking about cannabis some more. If you are new to this series, maybe check out this article here before moving on. Or don't. I'm not here to tell you how to consume my content, I'm just here to talk about weed. Really, really good weed, actually. I don't want this series to become an excuse for me to discuss the strains I personally enjoy exclusively, but until I get out of the house again, that's what there is in my cupboard to talk about. And so here we are.

I would like to note that the two strains at hand share a lot in common with one another beyond being favorites of mine. In all honesty, if I had to write these entries blind, I'm not sure they would read as distinguishable from one another in any way that matters. That said, it's the subtle differences that keep me from really having a favorite of the two. These are both also very much pillars of their respective brands, at least from a consumer standpoint, though I imagine that is also true from that of their producers as well.

Ultra Sour - Namaste

Photo courtesy of PrairieCanna.ca

The Ultra Sour by Namaste is by far the best strain that they offer, at least of what I've had from them so far. It is light and crumbly, lending itself to being rolled with almost no effort. The level of cure on the bud itself, something which can vary greatly depending on the producer, has always been consistent with this particular brand and strain. It might seem like something small, but that level of quality control and care goes far beyond what the consistency of the cannabis is.

The bud is always crisp, and so is the smoke, and so is the high. Rarely is there a lethargic comedown following this strain's relative plateau, and when there is it is a short lived occurrence. The flavor itself is sweeter than it is sour, but the deeply pungent citrus notes are still very much present, oftentimes getting caught in the back of the sinuses much the same way that cinnamon or cloves would. Boasting a respectable 18%-25% THC content that seems to more often than not be on the high end, this brand of Ultra Sour sells for almost $8.50 per gram at the SQDC, a cost that could would be off putting if not for the incredible, consistent quality of the flower.

Diesel - Spinach

Photo courtesy of PraireCanna.ca

Take everything I said in the previous paragraph, copy and paste it down here, and flip around the specific notes regarding the flavor profile. Also make the weed about eighty cents cheaper per gram. Done? Cool. That's my review of Diesel by Spinach.

Again, this is top quality weed at a solid price for what you're getting. The smoke is more sour than it is sweet, something that the aroma would belie on its own. It's honestly remarkable how similar these strains are, even if the difference under any microscope is obvious. I wish I could say more without repeating myself, but there isn't that much left to say. I can tell you that in the course of smoking only these strains for a solid day each, I genuinely enjoy the Diesel more than the Ultra Sour. Maybe not by much, but it burns a little bit slower, and the smoke is a little less harsh. They share the exact same estimated THC percentage, and the highs are just another aspect of these products that would just barely miss forming a circle on a Venn Diagram. Plus, the minor savings is still a couple bucks saved on every eighth. I'm certainly not going to stop buying both of these strains, but I will probably be buying the Diesel just a bit more often than the Ultra Sour after having revisited them for this article.

You made it to the end! Congratulations! Now, before you continue with your quest, there are just a few important things I must tell you, brave traveler. First, John Dodge can be found writing about comic books over at CBR.com. He is also on Facebook and Twitter, and occasionally Twitter again depending how much Magic: the Gathering he is playing at any given time. Second, tips are the best way to support your favorite creators directly, but you can always click the little heart button or share their content on social media instead. Finally, the dragon you seek to destroy can only be found inside of your dreams. Dragons are not real, and you should probably wake up now.

product review
1

About the Creator

John Dodge

He/Him/Dad. Writing for CBR daily. Follow me on Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram for assorted pop culture nonsense. Posting the comic book panels I fall in love with daily over here. Click here if you want to try Vocal+ for yourself.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.