Potent logo

A trip at the Hotel.

What a TRIP!

By Andrea WilliamsPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
1

This happened in October of 2015.

Me and my fiance were staying at this semi-seedy hotel in Toronto. We were booked there for five days. Our new apartment unit was being prepared for us to move into, and since they were doing extensive renovations in the unit, we had to stay at the hotel until it was ready.

I was a HUGE cannabis smoker in 2015. I was smoking multiple spliffs a day. It became part of my routine. I was very emotional and going through a lot in that year, so weed helped me immensely.

It was the third night of us being at the hotel, and we had just finished eating some dinner. I had went outside of the hotel to smoke a spliff. I never paid attention to specific weed strains or their weird names. I just loved weed in general. So, I was smoking a massive spliff, definitely more than I would smoke in one sitting. I guess I was really happy to be finally getting my own apartment, not having to share a house with someone else. So, this was my celebratory smoke. By the time I got back into the hotel suite, I was extremely high. Very, VERY high.

However, I usually felt pretty stable and fine as long as I was around my fiance. My fiance's brother passed away tragically in September of 2011. So, on this night at the hotel, one of his cousins called him and asked if he wanted to accompany her to the cemetery to visit their departed loved ones. I thought him going to the cemetery at 11 PM was very odd, but I would never intercept in his decision. So, he said he'd be back, and left.

I was alone in the hotel room, and tripping out on the bed. It was quite a regal looking room. Despite the area being a bit seedy and right near the highway, the interior of the hotel and their suites were quite nice and comfortable. Once my fiance left, I began to feel extremely paranoid. The TV was on. I do not remember what was playing. (I mean, who really remembers what they watched on TV at a hotel?)

Since this was October, it was starting to get really cold outside. The room's heating system was on, but I think it was getting TOO hot for me at the time. So, I got off the bed and walked over the unit to adjust the heating. I observed one of our USB charging cord hanging off of the desk. It was sort of half on, half off the desk. No way for it to really fall unless someone pulled it off the desk. So, I was walked back to go sit on the bed, and right before I put myself on the bed, the USB cord that was on the desk FLEW OFF and fell to the floor. It didn't just fall straight down, as you would expect. It flew off with force. There was no way that I caused it to fall, accidentally causing it to lose its grip on the desk. No way. It flew off when I was already near the bed. I nearly jumped out of my skin. I was incredibly scared.

I JUMPED into the bed. I had never been more afraid than I was in that moment. To the left and right of the bed, there are light fixtures above the nightstands. These fixtures are actually not able to be adjusted or manipulated. The lights could only be turned off or on. However, as I was panicking and freaking out, I looked to the right of me and thought I saw the light fixture move up and down. Mind you, this is physically impossible, as it was not made to move (like I said, it was fixed to the wall.) I was so scared.

I decided to call my fiance and vent to him. I told him everything that happened and he was in disbelief because he knew this was uncharacteristic of me. He said he was told by multiple people that the hotel was haunted, and that he really doesn't think the weed had anything to do with it. We ended the call and he came back to the hotel shortly after. I don't think I've leaped in his arms faster than when he came back to the hotel closer to midnight. I was so relieved to see him and I explained in more detail what happened. I was still blazing high when he arrived, but I instantly started to feel better. No more happenings took place during our stay, and we checked out two days later and moved into our apartment.

I don't know what happened to me that night. Weed had NEVER caused me to be so paranoid before that time. Yes, I did smoke more than usual that night, but remember, I was an avid smoker. I would be smoking spliffs on the hour. So, for this to occur to me was so bizarre and to this day, I am still baffled. I didn't find any info about this hotel being haunted. I actually stopped smoking for about 2 years because I was so paranoid about having a bad trip like that again. Luckily, it's never happened since.

humor
1

About the Creator

Andrea Williams

I love my city of Toronto!

Mom of 2!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.