Poets logo

Zero

more than a sum

By Randy BakerPublished 2 months ago Updated 2 months ago 1 min read
13
image from Wikipedia

Ten pennies make a dime

and Friday means

candy bar time.

All week collecting

those small copper coins

to cash in at the counter

of the corner store.

Trading all ten pennies

for a ten-cent piece

to drop into the slot;

oh, that glorious plop

when down comes

that magical piece

from its wire perch

in the vending machine.

Peanuts, almonds and caramel,

a smell and taste

I knew so well.

I’d eaten so many,

I was an expert judge

of the wondrous delight

wrapped in white chocolate fudge.

Down the hatch, it went so fast,

that gooey goodness would never last.

So many choices, as you well know,

but Zero, you’re my hero.

image from Wikipedia

OdehumorFree VerseFor Fun
13

About the Creator

Randy Baker

Poet, author, essayist.

Follow me on X

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Silver Serpent Books2 months ago

    Absolutely loved this! I've never had a Zero, but it definitely made me want one!

  • Rebekah Crawley2 months ago

    This made me crave something I’ve never even had haha, such a playful and delightful poem ☺️

  • Shirley Belk2 months ago

    One of my favorites even to this day!

  • Miss Catherine2 months ago

    Hi Randy, what inspired you to write this poem?

  • Anna 2 months ago

    Good job!

  • I've never had Zero before but it sounds sooo yummy! Loved your poem!

  • Reminds me of my childhood… searching the streets for abandoned cooper’s to trade for penny sweets. Ten pennies didn’t buy such luxury in my time though 😉

  • Real Poetic2 months ago

    I’ve never heard of that candy bar before. Learn something new everyday. Cool poem.

  • Zero candy bar is good. My favorite candy is anything dark chocolate.

  • Zero was one of my favorites also. I love that white chocolate fudge!!! Oh boy you've captured the foodie in me with this one!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.