Poets logo

Yours and Mine

and One Way/Two Way

By Guenneth SpeldrongPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Yours and Mine
Photo by Will Francis on Unsplash

My life is dismal

"I'm sorry if that upsets you"

Is what I want to say

But I am not sorry

It should upset you

It should make you feel

A great many

Things

You can get mad at me

all you want

You can make it about

Yourself

Like I am sure many of you will do

~

Despite your beliefs

It isn't about you

It is only about me

and my experiences

and my feelings

and my nightmares

Your choice of feelings

When you read about my life

Is all about you

And has nothing to do

With me

~

I am sure

You will miss

The protection

Of my silence

That you have come

To depend on

But it was never

Ever

Yours.

~

It

Was

Mine.

https://www.mentalfloss.com/article/12969/how-do-two-way-mirrors-work

One Way/Two Way

Trouble is

You will never understand

Who I am

Until

You live through

What I have

Experienced

And I have worked

My whole life

To make sure

This never

Happens

~

Yet I know

Exactly

How you feel

And why you act

The way you do

I have been there

Before

~

This mirror

Is not

Reciprocal

No matter

How hard

You squint

You will never

Be able

To see

Me

While I have

A clear view

Of you.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Guenneth Speldrong

Hello there. I write things. Sometimes good things. Mostly, I write to find myself. If I can entertain you in the process, then that's just the derivative icing on the proverbial cake!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.