Poets logo

Fleeting

and Sand

By Guenneth SpeldrongPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Fleeting
Photo by Robert Zunikoff on Unsplash

Fleeting

The swirling madness

That my brain

Is comprised of

Will

Occasionally

And briefly

Coalesce

Into a series of words

That makes sense

Of the world around me

In a way

I find so beautiful.

I must write them down

Before they are lost

Forever.

By dan lewis on Unsplash

Sand

I have

Accidentally

Cheated death

Many times.

As punishment

I have been forced

To live my life

As if

I were

Sisyphus' rock

Never making it to the top

Never winning

Always falling

And breaking

Into

Increasingly

Smaller pieces

With every failure.

I always try

To cobble

Those chunks

Together again

Despite the fact

I know

I never

Will.

Now I am

Just a pile of

Colorful sand

That is never

Quite able

To become

An intricate mandala

Before

The wind comes

Blowing it

Away

If I add

A days worth

Of tears

I can create

A simple

Kaleidoscope

So my ever

Shifting

Self

Can at least,

At times,

Become a moment

Of loveliness

For whoever

Takes the time

To look

At

Me.

art
1

About the Creator

Guenneth Speldrong

Hello there. I write things. Sometimes good things. Mostly, I write to find myself. If I can entertain you in the process, then that's just the derivative icing on the proverbial cake!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.