Poets logo

Your Skin

My Senses

By J. Delaney-HowePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
18
Your Skin
Photo by Nsey Benajah on Unsplash

My hands have journeyed every part of your skin.

My fingers have traced paths over and through your body hair.

I know your hands are rough and callous simply from holding them.

I know your body temperature runs warmer than average. I feel it when we lay skin to skin.

I know every bump and all your rough edges. My hands have felt them all.

My lips have kissed your skin all over.

My tongue has tasted your sweat.

I know what your neck and ears taste like.

I know when you have been sweating. Your skin tastes salty.

I know when you ate something sweet. I taste it on your lips.

My nose has smelled your skin.

My lungs have breathed you in.

I know when you are stressed. Your skin smells different.

I know which soap smells best on you. Your skin carries it well.

I know when you have been doing yard work. The smell of your sweat in country air is intoxicating.

My senses know every part of your skin.

love poems
18

About the Creator

J. Delaney-Howe

Bipolar poet. Father. Grandfather. Husband. Gay man. I write poetry, prose, some fiction and a good bit about family. Thank you for stopping by.

Queer Vocal Voices on Facebook.

Find me on Facebook.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  4. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Oneg In The Arctic5 days ago

    For a second I thought you wrote this for the challenge!! (ngl I was hoping this would get gritty :P)

  • Rene Peters5 days ago

    I love how descriptive this is!

  • River Joy2 months ago

    Beautiful descriptive freeing. To know another person so well is a gift

  • L.C. Schäfer10 months ago

    To drink in a person, and remain fascinated. That's the dream 😁😁

  • Lovely...to be known so well, and still desired. Perfectly written

  • Babs Iverson11 months ago

    Remember this one!!! Previously hearted!!!

  • Heather Zieffle 11 months ago

    Really nice! Great job!

  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    Beautiful piece

  • Heather Hubler11 months ago

    Oh, this was quite lovely and sensual. I enjoyed the read :) Well done.

  • Loved this poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.