Poets logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Your Shells Left New Wounds.

I was angry when I wrote this.

By RabbitPublished 9 days ago 1 min read
Your Shells Left New Wounds.
Photo by Marah Bashir on Unsplash

There is a wound rooted down inside my chest.

It's not devastating but it still hurts from time to time.

I tried to ignore it, it'll get better as life goes on or so everyone tells me.

Tears can slip down my cheeks if I focus too hard.

Sometimes it's because I fail at not looking at our pictures.

So I push it down a little further inside.

You never did any of it maliciously, right?

You have your own darkness and demons to fight.

Then I remember the nights of crying myself to sleep.

Waking up at 3m from a nightmare that ripped through me while my mind screams to call you.

He loves you, he'll be there for you, he'll protect you because he's your person.

I wasn't your first contact the next day.

I called and texted until I looked stupid.

All that was left was 882 missed calls during our whole relationship.

882 missed calls.

My eyes well up thinking about it now and that spot in my chest tightens.

You abandoned me when I needed you the most.

Becoming a ghost in my world but leaving the shells of who you used to be behind.

I sent my letter and you never spoke to me again, slowly easing me from your life.

The lesion opens up again and pours into my heart.

I hope there is forgiveness in the stream that now floods my lungs.

You're still in my dreams and clinging to my hope.

Screaming doesn't work and yelling at you won't help.

Telling you, I loved you unconditionally!

You're a fucking idiot! Asshole! Dickhead!

All I asked for was the same in return! But that is no remedy.

Keeping anger inside does nothing for me.

So I start letting the would heal, avoiding picking at it.

It doesn't seem so raw now.

heartbreak

About the Creator

Rabbit

I see the world a little differently than most. Even at a young age I was writing down what I saw but never sharing it with a soul until now. I'm choosing love over fear.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    RabbitWritten by Rabbit

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.