Poets logo

Your Metallic Skin

I See You

By Cathy holmesPublished 12 months ago Updated 8 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - April 2023
60

I see you.

All shiny and metallic.

Glistening in the sunlight seeping through the window.

Cool, relaxing in your own state,

uninfluenced by outside elements

I feel you.

Warming to the touch of the red glowing burner.

The unwelcome heat gurgling in your veins.

Your pain intensifying,

your suffering incrementally worse with each passing moment.

I hear you.

Your blood boiling in anger

Your voice screaming “help me, help me.”

I come running. I shut down your antagonist.

I give you your reprieve, and wait, while slowly you heal.

I see me.

In the reflection of your shiny metallic skin.

I see my invisible tears.

I hear my silent screams and I wonder,

Who will run to my rescue?

Who will shut down my antagonist?

Who will give me my reprieve?

Then I smile at my reflection, and I realize,

as I was your hero,

my reflection, in your metallic skin, will be my own.

inspirational
60

About the Creator

Cathy holmes

Canadian family girl with a recently discovered love for writing. Other loves include animals and sports.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (42)

Sign in to comment
  • Mackenzie Davis6 months ago

    Damn! This made me cry, Cathy!! I love how you brought it all together at the end, that transference of pain and rescue, all via the bridge of the kettle's skin. This metaphor is incredible. Very surreal, and I love surrealism.

  • Roy Stevens11 months ago

    Oh my, I'm not going to be able to boil the kettle any more... Well done, Cathy!

  • Novel Allen11 months ago

    Really deep musings. heartfelt emotions.

  • Paul Stewart12 months ago

    You really tied this all together! I love how you can take something inanimate like a kettle and produce such a richly deep and inspirational piece! Congrats on Top Story, so deserved!

  • Mariann Carroll12 months ago

    Brilliant 👏

  • Lamar Wiggins12 months ago

    Congrats, Cathy! Lovely poem with hidden messages.

  • Cendrine Marrouat12 months ago

    The ending is masterfully written, Cathy. Great poem!

  • wispo uganja12 months ago

    Wow what a beautiful poetry this is what we call creativity ❤️

  • Gina C.12 months ago

    This is so creative, Cathy! 😍 I love how you gave so much life to an inanimate object! Congrats on a well-deserved Top Story!! 😍😍

  • J. R. Lowe12 months ago

    Who would have thought boiling a kettle could be turned into such deep and beautiful poetry? Wonderful! ❤️

  • Loryne Andawey12 months ago

    I applaud this - and you - loudly and enthusiastically. Congratulations on your triumph and Top Story!

  • C. H. Richard12 months ago

    Loved this ❤️ So many questions and a good cup of tea does provide answers 🫖 Congratilations on your top story too!

  • Congratulations on your Top Story!

  • Congratulations on your Top Story!

  • Melissa Ingoldsby12 months ago

    This was surreal and so creative. Congratulations on your excellent top story !!

  • Congratulations 🎉 ❤️✨✨🎉🎉💯

  • Thavien Yliaster12 months ago

    As a lot of people say, "You're the solution to Your own problems." You are more than likely the hero now that You needed back then, and in no doubt You'll probably continue to be Your own hero presently.

  • JBaz12 months ago

    I love how you made this everyday object a reflection of a persons life. Well done. Congratulations

  • Kristen Balyeat12 months ago

    Phenomenal message! Tea kettle parallels- simply brilliant. Wonderful, Cathy! Congrats on top story!

  • Harmony Kent12 months ago

    Absolutely fantastic, Cathy 💕🙂

  • Sonia Heidi Unruh12 months ago

    Wow, just wow. You have a gift for building a structure to your poems that deepens the meaning and gives the ending an extra kick.

  • Kendall Defoe 12 months ago

    Will never look at my kettle the same way again... ;)

  • Donna Renee12 months ago

    Congratulations, Cathy!! This was such a great one!

  • Dana Stewart12 months ago

    Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Heather Hubler12 months ago

    Congratulations on Top Story!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.