Poets logo

Your eyes, like marcona almonds

could crumble like polvorónes

By E.K. DanielsPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Your eyes, like marcona almonds
Photo by Kalea Jerielle on Unsplash

Your eyes, like marcona almonds.

A Spanish delicacy,

Round and sweet,

But could crumble like polvorónes.

*

I relish the honey-colored gaze from across the table.

Checkered tablecloth rests beneath our hands,

Playing a silent game of chess.

The prawns, the pawns, dead soldiers,

Sacrificed,

While the Queen lies in wait.

*

Pauses between taps of the feet

Beat to the rhythm of my heart.

Bubbles crash upon your upper lip,

And I wish I were your glass of sparkling.

You catch my eyes that travel to your mouth,

With a flicker of recognition and disbelief.

*

Your marcona almond eyes wonder how I could love you,

And mine wonder how I could not.

love poems
1

About the Creator

E.K. Daniels

Writer, watercolorist, and regular at the restaurant at the end of the universe. Twitter @inkladen

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Pieces of Me ~ Poems by Heidiabout a year ago

    So beautiful! I love the visuals you used. Great descriptions. Well done!

  • Kat Thorne2 years ago

    Love the message behind this, so relatable. Great imagery too.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.