Poets logo

You Would Have Been Out of My Life

if I got another choice

By Maya Papaya Published 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
You Would Have Been Out of My Life
Photo by Aliyah Jamous on Unsplash

inadequacy runs through the cogs of the wheel that spin in my brain

around and around and around

as i fall harder and faster with nowhere to land

i can't move, can't scream, and with no one offering a hand

i fight the tears that seem to betray me as they fall freely anyway

people look at me as if i do not have the right

anymore i guess i don't

i have long had these fears, long ago was told my answer

but like a child i refused to believe

i had a hope, had a trust that everything would be fine

and then the world has to tell me how small i really am

i tremble and i shake

still no one is there to help me and my throat clogs up

still no scream escapes

and as i slide to my knees i pray to a God that has not answered me before

'what could it hurt anymore'

and within my next breathe i hear a chime in the haze

i look down with all the strength i have left

read the words

then suddenly everything is just a blur

i see spots in my vision

an inhumane scream rips through the air

it shocks me and as i look around

wondering what possibly could have made that sound

then i found

there

just there

lying on the floor with broken pieces every where

my phone with those words

and then i see stars i slam my head back into the wall

that i might lose the ability to think

that does indeed happen but by the worst of luck

my mind was not on my side

as i got for my troubles a headache

i felt dizzy from the hit

troubled by the words

and absolutely at my limit with all that this world could do

i just watch through eyes that show nothing anymore

i lost my zeal for life

i pledge now to be a zombie

and just cause myself the biggest strife

is this some cruel joke or test

i did not ask for this

i did not choose this life

and if i were to make this whole thing happen again

the first time you would have been out of my life

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Maya Papaya

A creative at heart but a squirrel for a brain. Making the actual completion of anything is yet to be determined 😂

I am a content creator, writer, and world traveler (still getting to the last part)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.