Poets logo

You want a Villanelle, Vocal.

you got it

By Mother CombsPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
17
You want a Villanelle, Vocal.
Photo by James Lee on Unsplash

I swore I never would write a villanelle

I promised myself I would never be lured into that trap

But Vocal has caused me to break my word and fail

*

All this rhyming is a total hell

I don’t want to make a rap

I swore I never would write a villanelle

*

Oh, can you not tell

I would much rather take a nap

But Vocal has caused me to break my word and fail

*

No bull am I trying to sell

And I am not begging for a frappe

I swore I never would write a villanelle

*

I tried so hard not to get on that boat and sail

Vocal knows just how to tempt you or make you look like a sap

But Vocal has caused me to break my word and fail

*

This first poem has driven the nail

Soon, I will have to draw you a map

I swore I never would write a villanelle

But Vocal has caused me to break my word and fail

surreal poetryhumorfact or fiction
17

About the Creator

Mother Combs

Come near, sit a spell, and listen to tales of old as I sit and rock by my fire. I'll serve you some cocoa and cookies as I tell you of the time long gone by when your Greats-greats once lived.

Admin = ViM

PViM

Mike Judey Dharr Grz

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (14)

Sign in to comment
  • Kendall Defoe 5 months ago

    Excellent!!! 💐👍🏽🏅

  • Denise E Lindquist5 months ago

    Good job MC😊💕

  • Phil Flannery5 months ago

    I agree, but I know I won't be lured in. Too many rules to remember. I love how you threw it back in their faces and they gave you Top Story anyway. Well done you.

  • Grz Colm5 months ago

    I haven’t even looked into the challenge yet.. I just know there is a bit of repetition with the structure. Still good of us to give it a go! 😊

  • For a first villanelle You Did Very well Probably a top story Excellent work

  • Hannah Moore5 months ago

    This is hilarious, well done.

  • Sid Aaron Hirji5 months ago

    brilliant idea

  • Hahahahahahaha but this was so brilliant! I'm still too terrified to try a Villanelle, lol.

  • Babs Iverson5 months ago

    Awesome!!! This is super!!! Loved it!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Mariann Carroll5 months ago

    Another Brilliant creation of yours 🥰

  • Natasha Collazo5 months ago

    You nailed it! 👏

  • Cathy holmes5 months ago

    Haha. That's great. I felt the same way.

  • Lana V Lynx5 months ago

    It came out really well, despite all your internal resistance and struggle. I loved it!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.