Poets logo

You've Got a Friend

Take My Hand. I'm Here.

By Leslie HPublished about a year ago 2 min read
Like
You've Got a Friend
Photo by Claudia Wolff on Unsplash

Loss is tough enough. Loss with mental health struggles can feel insurmountable. I often find myself at odds with my own mind. One side struggles to look at the bright side. The other side all to easily goes towards the dark.

Tonight was tougher than most for me. I am both halves of a conversation.

The Dark Speaks

I fear I'll never find a friend

To share my joys and sorrows

I resent the ones who have them

And dread the lonely morrows

I fear that everyone hates me

And sees me as a burden

I'm afraid to keep on living

With this pain that won't be certain

I'm angry that I'm still alive

When friendship is so rare

I resent that no one likes me

For more than what I wear

I'm jealous of the ones who die

And leave this world of strife

I resent that I'm not dying

And have to face this life

The Light Answers

You may feel alone and hopeless

But you are not alone

You may feel unwanted and worthless

But you are not unknown

You are loved by many people

Who care about your well-being

You are valued for your talents

And for your unique being

You are wanted in this world

You have a purpose and a place

You are enough just as you are

You have a beauty and a grace

You matter more than you realize

You make a difference every day

You have a light that shines within

You have a voice that has a say

Don't let the darkness overwhelm you

Don't let the fear take over you

Don't let the anger consume you

Don't let the sadness define you

You are stronger than you think

You are braver than you know

You are kinder than you feel

You are wiser than you show

You have a friend in me

Who will always listen and support

You have a friend in yourself

Who will always love and comfort

You are not alone, my friend

You are not unknown, my friend

You are loved, valued and wanted, my friend

You are enough and you matter, my friend

I am still here.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Leslie H

Leslie is currently exploring her career options, living in SoCal with her pet fish.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.