Poets logo

You Know I Really Don't Blame You

To Hear the Laughter of Cherubs, to Feel the Feathers of Angel's Wings, to Revel in All that Is Love

By Natalie Marie Stefani-RicePublished 6 years ago 1 min read
1
Junebug Weddings Pinterest

I really don't blame you.

I know it's not your fault.

We've been together for so long now and we know what works and what doesn't.

We both believe this doesn't.

Sitting next to each other yet miles apart.

Rips apart my soul, breaks my bleeding heart.

But, I really don't blame you.

I know it's not your fault.

We are toxic together.

We are lethal.

The fighting, the anger.

Our lives are filled with desperation.

You know I really don't blame you.

I know it's not your fault.

I watch you struggle.

I watch you suffer.

I breathe your pain.

The most fucked up part about all of this is that you won't miss me when I go, I think.

You think I'm crazy, you tell me so.

The most fucked up part about all of this is that I think that I'm the cause of all your strain.

You think I'm crazy, you tell me not to go.

How did it get like this?

I can't say I won't miss you, because I already do.

I miss the you I can remember.

You insist I'm the one that has changed.

Perhaps we've both just grown some.

I do believe people become stagnant.

They become comfortable, they stop trying.

Have we?

I can't imagine time without you, life without my soul mate.

If ever I was challenged in life, it would be now.

To save these lost souls, to mend these bleeding hearts, to right the wrongs of time.

To turn this sad song into a song of joy, a song of freedom.

To hear the laughter of cherubs, to feel the feathers of angel's wings, to revel in all that is love.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Natalie Marie Stefani-Rice

So please grant me peace from the demons I see. They crowd me and stalk me and won't let me be.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.