Poets logo

You

A Poem About Loss

By Michelle Truman | Prose and Puns | Noyath BooksPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
2
You
Photo by Scott Rodgerson on Unsplash

Speaking to a headstone

To a child beneath the ground.

My friends have come to call me mad

But here, there is no sound.

So many times I've come here,

Remembering those days.

We spent them laughing long ago.

You took them to your grave.

It gives me little comfort

To say my small hello,

For I know you can't hear me.

That you're gone under the snow.

I always will remember

The peace I found in you.

When I gazed upon your sweet face

I forgot the pain I knew.

I miss your laugh in silence,

I wish to hear you sing,

I miss your growing stages

Never knowing what they'd bring.

Every heart has some great task

For shoes no one can fill.

In mine it's to replace you

And nobody ever will.

sad poetry
2

About the Creator

Michelle Truman | Prose and Puns | Noyath Books

I fell in love with speculative fiction and poetry many years ago, but I have precious little time to write any. It was high time I started making Prose and Puns a priority, starting with Purple Poetry, Auqredis, and the World of Noyath.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • J. S. Wade2 years ago

    It’s hard to praise hard truths but this is a dose of reality that I have endured with the loss of my 20 yrs old son in 2018. You have captured the truth in an excellent and compelling way.

  • Heartbreaking😔

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.