Poets logo

You Don't Know Me Anymore

An Experimental Ode

By Annie KapurPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
You Don't Know Me Anymore
Photo by Beniamin Şinca on Unsplash

I tore the photograph of myself as a child up between my

fingers because I thought I looked frightening.

You said I was wrong.

I decided I wanted to have a rest from doing nothing

but cleaning yesterday and I drank a cup of coffee.

You said I drank too much coffee.

I wanted some more books to read because I

have no friends and nobody to talk to. I lose myself in stories.

You said I spent too much money on books.

I write all my thoughts down such as my to-do

lists and lists about things I might forget that I need for work.

You asked in anger what I’m always writing lists about.

I don’t smile anymore.

You ask me why.

You say I’ve changed my mind.

But you haven’t even tried to know me since I was thirteen.

So how would you know?

Sometimes you doubt I have a mind at all.

Am I a robot to you?

Am I a machine to you?

You give me orders and pretend to love me when

something you want is out of your reach.

And I give it to you anyway.

You thought about having fish for dinner but

did not want to grill it yourself.

And I grilled it for you.

You thought of an idea which I knew was

never going to work but instead -

I went ahead.

I had faith in you.

I saw you struggle and weed out the fakery

in your life. But you see,

you don’t know me.

You haven’t even tried

and no, I don’t think you have faith in me.

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Annie Kapur

200K+ Reads on Vocal.

English Lecturer

🎓Literature & Writing (B.A)

🎓Film & Writing (M.A)

🎓Secondary English Education (PgDipEd) (QTS)

📍Birmingham, UK

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.