Poets logo

Static

An Experimental Poem

By Annie KapurPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Static
Photo by Ivan Aleksic on Unsplash

The flies that keep me up for hours

may be nothing.

But the rumble of the floor, the static of

each

and every

second

is a problem which sends me sitting on my bathroom floor, door

locked

and wanting to read a book. But it's not

possible and every day I awaken to hear the

same static

and my head

aches from sunrise to

sunset. And yet

I say:

nothing.

For I fear of hurting your feelings, you see.

And you'll box my ears with anecdotes

from bygone years and I'll start to choke.

Pride welling up

wishing I hadn't asked.

And you'll never stop talking

but nobody's listening.

But-

But you cannot keep on topic.

But you cannot stop repeating the same thing

over

and over

and over again.

Maybe I'll just put up with it and say:

nothing.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Annie Kapur

200K+ Reads on Vocal.

English Lecturer

🎓Literature & Writing (B.A)

🎓Film & Writing (M.A)

🎓Secondary English Education (PgDipEd) (QTS)

📍Birmingham, UK

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.