Poets logo

You don't deserve me

I know this but it doesn't lessen the wanting you

By Kelly MendozaPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
2

It would be such a simple thing to hate you

To forget the joy and laughter

The shared memories and new plans

The press of your lips and the feel of your arms

The warmth wrapped around me

Your love reflected in the beat of your heart

The curve of your smile

The shine in those blue eyes

The ones that have haunted me for years

It would be easy to focus on the pain

All the broken promises

the seemingly endless tears

This ache in my chest

The emptiness inside that nothing can fill

The hollowness in the shape of your name

You don't deserve me

I've hoped for you for nearly all of my life

Of holding hands and drifting off in sweet slumber

I've dreamed of waking beside you

Of walking and talking and loving together

Building a life and allowing love to bloom

because what we have is epic

If you cannot look at me and know

Know that I am the best thing that could happen to you

If you cannot look and choose me, finally

then you don't deserve me

But I deserve you

heartbreak
2

About the Creator

Kelly Mendoza

As a newly single mother of 2, I've found myself with extra time on my hands . Whether it's fantasy or paranormal , reading and writing has always been an escape for me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.