Poets logo

You.

Poetry about loss and moving on

By Isabella RenteriaPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
You.
Photo by Luis Galvez on Unsplash

I heard you’ve been doing well

You moved on

Met someone else

And I’m not going to lie,

It hurt.

More than I thought it would.

And here I am, thinking I had gotten over you

When I know I couldn’t do so

But this is the way

That things are supposed to be

Life took you away from me

And led you to someone else

I am reminded about the memories of us sometimes

How it brings me to tears every single time

Even if it has been years

I just can’t let you go

And I have never felt so broken

Just at the sound of your name

From someone’s lips

But the only thing I can do

Is to hope you are happy

Living your best life

With that someone

Giving you the things that I didn’t

The things I couldn’t give to you.

sad poetry
2

About the Creator

Isabella Renteria

"Painting is silent poetry, and poetry is painting that speaks." - Plutarch

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.