Poets logo

You Can See Right Through Me

I Don't Know How You Do It

By Nicole Higginbotham-HoguePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
16
You Can See Right Through Me
Photo by Chewy on Unsplash

gentle gaze

as I feel your eyes

on mine

and a blush of insecurity

fills my stomach

as I realize you can see me

for who I am

and it’s the sad truth

that it takes a sleuth

for most people to even get a peek

I don’t know if it’s the lack of attention

or if they just truly can’t see

but when you glance at me

from across the room

I can see your expression change

as I move

and I know that my veil is suddenly transparent

because when I’m with you

I forget to wear it

love poems
16

About the Creator

Nicole Higginbotham-Hogue

Nicole Higginbotham-Hogue is a lesfic author at amzn.to/36DFT2x. Sign-up for her newsletter at higginbothampublications.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.