Poets logo

You Are Old Donald Trump

A Pome by Paul (with apologies to Lewis Carroll)

By Paul CowanPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

“You are old, Donald Trump," the journalist said,

“And your hair looks suspiciously phoney;

Yet you stubbornly asseverate that it’s real,

Don’t you think that’s a load of baloney?”

“In my youth," Donald Trump replied to the press,

"I expertly coiffured my thatch;

I have the best hair in the civilised world,

And it cleverly hides my bald patch.”

“You are old," said the journo, "as I mentioned before,

And have grown disconcertingly fat;

Eating burgers and fries and drinking Diet Coke,

Tell me, what’s the reason for that?"

“In my youth,” Donald said, “I had to ingest healthy food;

Hamburgers and fries they’d forbid.

Now I can eat whatever I want

And I still weigh the same as I did.”

But you’re old," said the hack, "and your jaws are too weak;

For anything tougher than suet;

Yet you’ve devoured six Big Macs and super sized fries

Tell me, how did you do it?”

“Well you see,” said the Chief, “I married quite young;

To Ivana, my very first wife.

And the rows we enjoyed, have strengthened my jaw;

And it’s lasted the rest of my life."

“You are old," said the press, "I can hardly believe;

That your brain is as steady as ever;

Having filed for bankruptcy six times in the past,

You still think you’re incredibly clever?”

“I have answered three questions, and that is enough;

I’m sick of your liberal views.

Unless you’re from Fox then you’re all just the same;

Truth? Facts? That’s all just Fake News!”

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Paul Cowan

I’m an artist, animator and illustrator with several book covers and illustrations under my belt. I’ve been writing and illustrating my stories for nearly thirty years and have a few published books to show for it.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.