Poets logo

You are my dove

Anabelle Lee

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Top Story - October 2022
101
You are my dove
Photo by Zaur Ibrahimov on Unsplash

yes I remember the laughs between the layers of our shared verse

And the dreams we were dancing with the moon lit curse

That hung over my face

Drinking in my energy

And sneaking my love like bites, a dark raven morphed into stony two legs and a docile mask,

I cannot reach my Anabelle Lee

And I as Edgar cannot dream

This curse haunts me

I wish not to harm her twinkling milky vision, so in secret heaven we can hear our emotions loud,

A sea of unending lemon twilight bliss,

Waves that neither sink or pull

Or drown or carry,

But only lift up

And create new dreams.

You are my

Dove,

And Raven, too, Anabelle Lee

I love you.

love poems
101

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos,

I am Bexley by Resurgence Novels

The Half Paper Moon on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella The Job and Atonement will be published this year by JMS Books

Carnivorous published by Eukalypto

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (27)

Sign in to comment
  • 𝕬𝖓𝖌𝖊𝖑'𝖘 𝖜𝖎𝖓𝖌𝖘2 years ago

    I am in galaxies, not in space...

  • keenan eliezer2 years ago

    Great!

  • This is lovely - nice references to Poe - l really enjoyed this poem

  • Sana G2 years ago

    engaging content

  • BEER BRAND2 years ago

    nice.. You are my Dove.. Yes, it's true!! You are my Dove.. Superb dear!!

  • Doyscher Kerley2 years ago

    I love your poetry and I want to give you credit for it.

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Brilliant & beautiful!!! Congratulations on Top Story!!!

  • Penny2 years ago

    Beautiful :) Really

  • Belshaw Sandri2 years ago

    It's really great

  • Friotcoy2 years ago

    Great!

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Marl Gore2 years ago

    👏

  • Nicely done. Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Luv this Melissa

  • Linda Rivenbark2 years ago

    Beautiful imagery of a bittersweet love.So sad, but with hope of expressing that love in another dimension, you might say, with "a sea of unending lemon twilight bliss". I enjoyed reading this poem.

  • Page Dragon2 years ago

    The dove symbolizes peace, may your mind be as peaceful and quiet as the dove

  • Sibari2 years ago

    Awesome poem! Check out mine if you get a chance.

  • Cuse Rapp2 years ago

    Olduvai dokunaklı beer şiir

  • Miles Pen2 years ago

    Awesome poem! Check out mine if you get a chance.

  • Paffin Holtz2 years ago

    Okuduktan sonra bir özlem duygusu

  • Carol Townend2 years ago

    That is just beautiful. Really lovely writing Melissa.

  • Caroline Jane2 years ago

    Awwwwww! 🥰

  • Beautiful words and a deserved Top Story sis

  • Dawn Salois2 years ago

    Beautiful poem! Congratulations on your Top Story!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.