Poets logo

Yes and No

Clashing of the minds

By Susan LeePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Image of pollen in the wind

So much about Life is about

clashing of the minds

Yes, yes, yes, you say

No, no, no, I say

Yes, yes, yes, you say

it's okay to assault

to ignore, to deny

to reverse attack

No, no, no, I say

I need my justice

and truth, I need my

day in court.

Yes, yes, yes, you say

it's okay to deceive

to break the trust, to

exploit, to wage a war

No, no, no, I say

this is deadly, a VIOLENCE

I cannot bear. There

are many forms of deception,

of breaking my heart, I now realize.

I step back as my adult self

and look through the last

40 years of my Life through

my child's Eye, but tainted with

the betrayal.

But the worst form of betrayal

is the one where I lied

to myself about what I wanted.

I couldn't face the truth.

I desire,

I regret,

I breathe,

I decide.

But who is there to hold

a mirror up to me?

Who is there to help

me know what I want?

So I go through this vicious

process all over again,

like a potted-plant

who goes through the cycle

of Life assiduously until

it comes to its wisdom

or its senses and its remains float

away like pollen into the wind.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Susan Lee

I graduated from Stanford University in 2002 with a BA in International Relations and a minor in Psychology and have a Masters in International Affairs from Georgetown University.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.