Poets logo

Yellow

Poem

By Marley GarciaPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

Before you, my world was black & white.

Love didn't exist, and depression was everywhere. I hated myself, even before I knew what I hated about me.

There was no light. My soul was walking around in the pitch black darkness of my empty heart. There was no hope for it was always cold.

My heart was starving, it was craving just a little bit of warmth even for just a second.

I would cry and no one would ever hear me.

I would make myself bleed but I was too numb to feel the pain.

But then..

I met you.

Suddenly I felt that little warmth I desired.

You shined in my broken heart before I knew I had windows.

With your light, flowers started to grow

Love started to flow like a rushing stream in and out of my heart

Your laugh was the rhythm of my heart beat. Your eyes were the front door to my home.

Your arms were the feeling of safety I never knew.

Your lips were the perfect match to mine.

You were a big yellow sun in my world of darkness.

You saved me.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Marley Garcia

Just a young woman who saw the worst side of humanity growing up and decided to not let it define me.

Each of my stories have a little truth in them. I hope everyone who reads them enjoys them as much as I do. ✨

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.