Poets logo

Cold

Poem

By Marley GarciaPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

In my darkest hours, when I feel already dead I run to you hoping you will hold me and revive my frozen heart.

Hoping you will tell me everything will be okay.

Wishing you will know to remind me my strengths because I've forgotten who I am.

I hope you tell me I'm loved.

I hope you tell me I'm beautiful inside and out.

Instead, you make my issues about you.

You remind me that you are great and deserved to be treated better. You hide those words in soft spoken lies.

When will it be my turn to feel the capacity of my own emotions?

When will I be allowed to pour my heart out instead of being handed a mop and told to clean it up.

When will it be my turn.

I will shut you out of every hole and crack.

I will freeze and be stiff

It's my turn, to be cold.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Marley Garcia

Just a young woman who saw the worst side of humanity growing up and decided to not let it define me.

Each of my stories have a little truth in them. I hope everyone who reads them enjoys them as much as I do. ✨

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.