Poets logo

Yellow Brick road

Poetry

By Mattie :)Published 8 months ago 1 min read
3
Yellow Brick road
Photo by Alev Takil on Unsplash

You burnt a massive hole deep inside my heart

The wound still stings

The wound is always sore

Yet the wound has also started to heal

Creating brand new flesh and bones

Like a caterpillar I feel my wings growing

And transforming into something new like a monarch butterfly

Death maybe near

Yet life still surrounds me

Pulling me in

Like a tight piece of rope

Closer and closer I get

To what I desire

And ultimately need

The journey can get dark

Yet there is light up ahead

Like that motto from that classic film

Just follow the yellow brick road

If only you would rejoin me on my journey to the land of Oz

Go on the adventure together like we always imagined

That be cool :)

love poemsinspirationalart
3

About the Creator

Mattie :)

I'm a 29 year old curious and creative soul. Spread love like a wildfire.#NonBinary #Christian #WellsFiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Lamar Wiggins8 months ago

    Hope and despair. There is a balance to be found. Hopefully the yellow brick road leads to better times. Great poem, Matt and love the picture. I wonder where that is exactly. Do you know?

  • Muhammed Ismail8 months ago

    Nice article I like it ... and i like the adventure

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.