Poets logo

X

Holy On My Own

By Sarah JanePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
When google memories reminds you of an old pic of you and your ex in 2020 pre-pandemic. But you looked so good that night you edit him out to make it look better 👻🖌️

I never wrote a poem about you

the whole 7 months we were together

*

You didn't deserve one

because all you gave me was

good sex

expensive drugs

and a headache

*

You followed me until I noticed you

You said all the right things

I wish I payed attention sooner

that all those times you first met me

weren't coincidences

*

I take my spiritual path seriously

and you figured that out quick

You easily used it as a tactic to manipulate me

*

You had me fooled early in the game

Talking about spirituality, consciousness

and all my favorite nonsense

*

I was naïve

and vulnerable enough

to let you in

*

But you were a reminder

to be careful of those who have a big talk

but ain't doing the work to back it up

*

I still remember your "notebook of poems"

you read to me on our first date

*

At the end of our relationship

when you broke my trust completely

I found your notebook

Wondering why

I stayed so long

I took a peek inside

to find empty pages

*

You're not dumb

That's for sure

but you only use your brain

to get what you want

*

You use your soul to abuse your power

and karma don't play that shit

That's why universe keeps

bitch slapping you left and right

Negative energy

doesn't attract blessings

but you should know that

by now

*

You said I was a blessing

a dream

bright like the sun

*

Because you found a source

of pure energy to feed off

Someone you could take advantage of

*

Good thing I'm smart

and perceptive too

because I figured it out quick

though I wish I had figured it out sooner

*

And because I wield my soul

for the greater good

Universe has blessed me

once I rid myself of you

the dead weight

the cunning fool

slam poetry

About the Creator

Sarah Jane

Writing has been Sarah's passion since she was 7 years-old when she began writing poetry and short stories. Now, she's sharing her gift with the world. Subscribe, and come take a whirl in her words.

Tips are appreciated!

IG: @sarahjane.speaks

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Sarah JaneWritten by Sarah Jane

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.