Poets logo

Writing Is My Superpower

A Poem

By Atomic HistorianPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
4

Cower before me

You infernal machine

See all I have created

Worlds, both loved and hated

They feed you words

But you are our scourge

You need as many words as they can fit in you

I need but one

Even none will do

Just a picture

In or out of my mind

To have the alphabet bleed from my sinew

You will never be like us

Frank warned us against your kind

Machines mimicking the minds of men

But you have never truly felt the power of the pen

The only weapon that forms

Or destroys nations

You’re nothing but a convenience for the lazy

Like automated conveyance

Just one more reason for the talentless to not pay us

We create the world

Both fiction and real

From the small screen

To the house of the reel

You may steal our jobs

But our souls you can never kill

Thank you for reading my work. If you enjoyed this story, there’s more below. Please hit the like and subscribe button, you can follow me on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram @AtomicHistorian, and if you want to help me create more content, please consider leaving a tip or become a pledged subscriber.

More from this author:

fact or fictionvintagesurreal poetrysocial commentaryslam poetrysad poetryperformance poetrynature poetrylove poemslistinspirationalhumorhow toheartbreakexcerptschildrens poetrycelebritiesbuyers guidebook reviewsart
4

About the Creator

Atomic Historian

Heavily irradiated historian developing my writing career. You can follow me on Facebook, Twitter, & Instagram. To help me create more content, leave a tip or become a pledged subscriber. I also make stickers, t-shirts, etc here.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Rachel Deeming9 months ago

    This is awesome. AI, watch out! And spooky picture choice too makes this super powerful. So many great lines: "to have the alphabet bleed from my sinew" is so vivid. Great.

  • Just heard a story on NPR that is suggesting that Hillary Clinton's trust in AI to outline her campaign strategy is why she lost in 2016. Sometimes it's not that AI wants to steal our jobs. It just doesn't want us to get them.

  • Manisha Dhalani9 months ago

    So much power and pride in this poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.