Poets logo

Writer's Block

From the creative writing archives

By Adrian HollomonPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Writer's Block
Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

I tried to write a poem today

But nothing came to mind

So I sat at home alone

At my wooden desk

With no TV, computer, or phone

Hoping words would come to me

When none came I sat there still

And yearned for even a stray thought

But nothing came and still I sat

Wondering what I was doing wrong

I sat and sat and sat

Until at last I couldn’t take it anymore

Hours had flown by quickly

And night had replaced the day

Off to bed I went

For surely there was no reason to stay awake

As I settled into sleep, things began to change

Thoughts, words, and ideas flowed endlessly

Disrupting my would-be peaceful rest

So instead I crawled out of bed

To once again take the seat at my desk.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Adrian Hollomon

She/Her. Loves books. Writes mostly fantasy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.