Poets logo

Writer's Block

Blocked is what you called it, when I said I couldn't write anymore. A Poem

By Kayla JeffersonPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Writer's block hits us all, but how do you escape your own mental prison?

Blocked

Is what you called it

When I said

I couldn’t write anymore

I wasn’t losing my touch

The touch was simply escaping me

Refusing to let me flourish

It crowded me

Stuffed me into a box

While I screamed for release

The sound getting lost in the four walls

It wouldn’t let me breathe

Strangling me with my own hands

Straddling what was left

While I begged for anything

To help release the blockage

To ease the mind

And numb the pain

Blocked

Is what you called it

When I said

I couldn’t write anymore

But how do you release

When the blockage is you

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Kayla Jefferson

I am a 23 year old writer based in Houston, TX. I write short, creative fiction, true crime analysis, and poetry. I hope you find something you like here in my world. Tips are not expected, but appreciated!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.