Poets logo

worthy

is narcissism the opposite of love?

By Ivy JanePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
worthy
Photo by Vince Fleming on Unsplash

i told myself i was worthy of love

as i cried myself to sleep

wanting only to be loved by you

i told myself i was worthy of love

as you told me all the things you loved about me

unaware you were looking at me like a mirror

noticing traits only present in yourself

i told myself i was worthy of love

as i drowned everything about myself that you didn't like

rebuilding myself piece by piece

until i looked just like you

thank you for reading

i am new to poetry and currently using it as a way to express how i feel, almost as a form of journaling, without worrying about structure and rules. i apologize if, as a result, my poems are difficult to read.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Ivy Jane

a girl that loves to write in her spare time

Dating Myself : 2/30 days complete

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.