Poets logo

Words Fail

On Writers Block and a Writer's Healing

By Olivia L. DobbsPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
Like
Words Fail
Photo by Liana Mikah on Unsplash

Words fail

I sip scalding Earl Grey poured from a tea kettle.

An empty white screen lights up a dim room.

A vertical line blinks on an untitled document.

--

Words fail

A notebook sits at the bottom of a suitcase.

Three optimistic pencils undulled on vacation.

Blank pages, calm, weightless head.

--

Words fail

Inspiration traded for a piece of peace of mind.

Sentences no longer pour out of a heart unburdened.

What do I write when all is fine?

--

Words fail

Two months of healing, hard and hardly won.

The light at the end of the tunnel is silent.

Ignorance and a quiet mind are bliss.

--

Words fail

Hedonistic happiness shadowed by blips of concern.

A tiny worry slips past newfound barriers,

“Was cortisol all that propelled me forward?”

--

Words fail

Another calendar month flips over.

I stroll in quiet fields as my brain blooms with serotonin

In passing, I pause and touch the flowers.

--

Words fail.

Rather, they don't pour out easily today.

With each morning comes more repairs, hope, and courage.

I'll try again tomorrow.

nature poetrysad poetryperformance poetryart
Like

About the Creator

Olivia L. Dobbs

Science Enthusiast, Naturalist, Dreamer, Nerd.

I crosspost my Medium articles here :)

You can find my main account on Medium: https://medium.com/@oliviadobbs13

Check out my science! -> bit.ly/DobbsEtAl

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Kendall Defoe 5 months ago

    Your second stanza reminds me of what I go through when I head home for the holidays... Excellent!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.