Poets logo

Word Of The Day Poetry

Pleonasm

By Denise E LindquistPublished 6 days ago 1 min read
Word Of The Day Poetry
Photo by Pawel Czerwinski on Unsplash

ple·o·nasm [ˈplēəˌnazəm]

noun

the use of more words than are necessary to convey meaning (e.g. see with one’s eyes), either as a fault of style or for emphasis. Bing

In the example in the photo above

or in other similar identifications of

conditions ending in disorder, how about club

We could have a club or even a pub.

Is disorder really necessary?

For me it is unnecessary.

Club and pub make as much sense

Maybe it is all me being dense

Oops I mean Denise

I need to remember my niece

is a therapist and may read this,

but this she very well may dis.

~

FASD is Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder

Is disorder necessary there? In order

to explain what?

“Disorder: a state of confusion.”

That explains a lot!

Let’s shoot for another definition.

~

Using pleonasm, we may say

this is that. Saying the same thing okay.

Bipolar can be described as very confusing

Disorder is confusing to me as I am musing

Okay, not the best example of pleonasm

What is better?

This doesn’t have to be a letter!

~

Like the example above using eyes and see

You can say I hear with my ear

Is that a pleonasm or do I even understand the e.g.

It could be a steer

then cattle making it clear

that steers are cattle

I won’t tattle

about why a steer is no longer a bull

It may be too dull

How about a dry desert, burning fire, wet rain

Now those are pleonasms according to Bing.

Did this help me to learn or gain?

Probably not. No more about the pleonasm thing.

~~~~

First published by Write Under the Moon on medium.com

Free Verse

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

  • T. Licht4 days ago

    What a creative poem!

  • Oooo, I didn't know there was a term for this. Thank you so much for teaching me a new word! Also, I literally laughed out loud when I read this: "Maybe it is all me being dense Oops I mean Denise"

  • shanmuga priya6 days ago

    What a creative celebration of words!...just loved it.

  • Mark Graham6 days ago

    What a poem as to a play on words. Creatively done.

  • Lana V Lynx6 days ago

    This made me chuckle. Great verse, Denise!

  • Shirley Belk6 days ago

    lol...but who is to say too much is too much or enough is enough?

Denise E LindquistWritten by Denise E Lindquist

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.