Poets logo

Wooden Alchemy

Original poetry by Akilkuumba K.

By Empty Poetry and VersePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

Wooden Alchemy

I wonder how many can say

I have lost and found myself again

How many have left their last

Wondering without identity or face

Until one day seemingly stumbling

Into its new place

Replacing one mask for another

Maybe isn’t as false as it seems

For what lies bellow is as hard to explain

As a dream on awakening

Becoming a mirage

A façade, a fallacy

Yet can still drastically affect the destiny

I died, or rather was murdered, consumed

By a cannibal

Much viler than venom

Yet as seductive as a siren

As darkness is often more alluring than light

For what cannot be seen and known

Is more greatly desired

In that deep wood upon the crucible

I lay down my carcass

Igniting a fire

That it may become ash

I watch as all I know myself to be bubbles and melts between the cracks

Alas left behind was three stones that could not be turned to gas.

nature poetrysad poetrysurreal poetryheartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Empty Poetry and Verse

Empty and Endless The Heart Of a Poet.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.