Poets logo

Womb

A lullaby for the child I'll never have

By Phoebe Sunny ShengPublished 3 days ago 1 min read
Womb
Photo by Europeana on Unsplash

Carved open, weeping when she had to walk to recover

To child-bear is to be a martyr

As I slept soundly in another ward

Such a scar, and I'm no reward

If I don't want to be your mother

Does that make me a bad daughter?

Oh, this womb is my nemesis

My prison is my uterus

"Why are you so against having a family?"

What if you ask, "Why did you have me?"

And I say "I can't lie to you, kid…"

"I didn't want you, your grandparents did."

If I don't want to be your mother

Does that make me a bad daughter?

Oh, this womb is my nemesis

My prison is my uterus

I have no room for you in my heart

And it's tearing me apart

I have no room for you in that part

You're not even in there and I'm tearing you apart

If I don't want to be your mother

Does that make me a bad daughter?

Oh, this womb is my nemesis

My prison is my uterus

sad poetrySong Lyricssocial commentary

About the Creator

Phoebe Sunny Sheng

I'm a mad scientist - I mean, teen film critic and author who enjoys experimenting with multiple genres. If a vial of villains, a pinch of psychology, and a sprinkle of social commentary sound like your cup of tea, give me a shot.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Esala Gunathilakeabout 13 hours ago

    Very heartfelt that was. Outstanding and appreciate your effort!

  • The repetition of certain lines emphasizes the internal turmoil and the heartbreaking realization of not wanting to be a mother. It invites reflection and empathy, shedding light on the complexities of personal choices and societal pressures, thank you very much for sharing, love your works, hope to read more, subscribed.

Phoebe Sunny ShengWritten by Phoebe Sunny Sheng

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.