Poets logo

Woman in Woeful Limbo

"I am expendable in the lives of many Subjectable in the eyes of men."

By CD TurnerPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
(Picture Credit: Marcin Bondarowicz/Poland)

This can't be the extent of life...

Suffering among a merciless game

Of privilege versus disadvantage.

I can't have wasted 29 years...

Thinking this misery was temporary

Thinking that I would be rescued.

There is no knight coming to save me...

I'm hardly a damsel in distress

More like a woman in woeful limbo

Between meaningful existence

And surrender to the void.

I spent so long trying to do things right

Like life is a checklist

And religion is a foundation

When it was really a wrecking ball

Destroying my confidence

Gaslighting my conscience.

There has to be something more...

Than waiting for opportunity

Than waiting for real life to begin.

What can I do to assert change?

I cast vote after vote

Only for freedoms to further diminish.

I am expendable in the lives of many

Subjectable in the eyes of men.

It's only a matter of time

Until the crusades begin.

Until the moral guardians abolish democracy

Until theoretical life is worth more

Than the persons who carry it.

I'm so tired of the mercilessness,

The unwarranted attacks upon a nation

Who only ever wanted equality.

I will sleep now

Even in the light of day.

Because the horrors of reality

Weigh down my eyelids

My heart

My soul

My very being.

I shall rest now

And hope to fade away into my dreams.

Because to wake up is a nightmare.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

CD Turner

I write stories and articles. Sometimes they're good.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.