Poets logo

Woman In The Mirror

A real dream experience.

By Cheyenne MercadoPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
Woman In The Mirror
Photo by Aedrian on Unsplash

How did I get here?

Where could I be?

I’m sitting on a couch

in a house consequently

I feel her presence next to me

I glance slowly, fear rising

Her face is black and twisted

Past recognizing

I’m afraid but

I can sense she’s in great need

The hairs on my body alert

I’m nervous

Suddenly we are both above

Up the stairs thereof

I can see her standing in the mirror

She begins to claw at her face

The pictures getting clearer

I stand at a distance

“Come out!” I want to scream

But the fear has kept me

On the line of least resistance

Who is this woman?

Why is she so troubled?

Something is deep inside

Evils she cannot hide

I’m awake

And I realize

That woman was me

surreal poetry

About the Creator

Cheyenne Mercado

Secrets hidden behind a lock and key, suddenly his faithful love set me free.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Cheyenne MercadoWritten by Cheyenne Mercado

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.