Poets logo

Woman.

.

By DamilolaPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Woman.
Photo by Hadis Safari on Unsplash

My face is red with blisters, burnt and sore, but I cover it up with mud and coloured Khol, cheese and smile, must take a picture

The skin on my fingers are peeling off, but still I type, a day job, a mere prisoner, no other choice, must feed the minions

My eyes are bulged, white screen and fluorescent lights, up in the dead of the night, a new cloud opportunity, must see the future

My nipples are sore, I bleed in doses, there’s a fang toothed monster chewing on my insides, I left some red colour, on the train seat from sheffield, must be my period

Must make a home, for soon I’ll expire, fill my womb and pass on my trauma, must stretch for a head, must push and scream, must enter a union

Must manage my woes, and put on a smile, manage my rolls and put on a dress, manage my sores and put on a face, manage my cramps and turn up to work, must be a woman

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Damilola

poet, wanderer, writer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.