Poets logo

Lieutenant please

I haven’t stained your white dress.

By DamilolaPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Lieutenant please
Photo by Florian Klauer on Unsplash

Lieutenant please

Can I ask to simply live?

Without your all important commentary, your feigned superiority and the oppression of my being.

Lieutenant please

I beg only to exist

Without the sharp blade of your opinions, your stereotypes, your prejudice and your consciously subconscious bias.

Lieutenant please

Can I take up a tiny bit of space?

Since it’s only your world, and people like me have no place. Since it’s only your world, and people like me cannot stay.

Lieutenant please

Can I love who I love?

He’s beautiful and he’s kind, but I guess to you, it’s an abomination to feel this way. But I guess to you, it’s an abomination and we’re out of place.

Lieutenant please

How does my presence hurt you?

When I haven’t stained your white dress, with the colours of my rainbow. When I haven’t stained your white dress with the black in my skin?

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Damilola

poet, wanderer, writer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.