Poets logo

With Love comes Loss

Poem

By Rilee AreyPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
Like
With Love comes Loss
Photo by Benjamin Davies on Unsplash

When I was little, I didn't understand,

I was loved by everyone around me,

I didn't understand with love comes loss,

Then my great grandma passed,

With that my innocence was lost,

In high school, I didn't understand,

I had a plan,

I couldn't see how other people's hearts,

We're becoming a part of someone else,

That was until, I fell,

It was a few years later,

After a relationship that made everything unclear,

But then I understood,

What it was to be loved and to love someone back,

Seeing a future with someone, them learning about your past,

But with love comes loss,

And some things aren't meant to last,

Now I sit here 5 years later,

With an understanding that is greater,

From what I thought love would look like,

But, if I were honest,

I have been chasing,

Dreaming to find a conquest,

Where I once again experience a love where I feel understood,

Seen, loved, someone where together we are the depiction of good,

I crave that feeling,

I wish I didn't,

I wish 5 months alone in my bed didn't feel like a penance,

Parts of me wish I could re-find my high school self,

The girl who never needed any love from someone else,

But I understand,

I understand this is a part of my life's plan,

I understand the love I desire is not the same as those I admire,

I understand that the love I crave from my 20-year-old self,

Is not the same love I want now, versus what I have felt,

But I also understand me being alone,

Me feeling alone,

Is uncomfortable,

It leads me to write these pages,

About what I am learning throughout my ages,

But at the end of each page,

I am still in the dark,

Of what love even is to me now,

Because I can say I understand,

Because I have felt love before,

But I been trying to find something, I don't even know,

But with love comes loss,

They are forever intertangled,

Though I have experienced both,

I am at a loss for what love is.

And honestly, I just want to understand.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Rilee Arey

What a life we live, Lets live a life where we have something to write home about!

27-year-old trying to find meaning, love and a life worth living.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.