Poets logo

Wishes On Moonbeams

Time and distance will never erode the love between mother and daughter.

By Danielle Elizabeth AndrewsPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
1
Wishes On Moonbeams
Photo by Aron Visuals on Unsplash

Every night I seek out the Moon

And in the Moon, I search for your face.

A face I once knew better than my own.

My heart will never forget,

Yet the images seem to fade.

The words, so vivid,

Your spirit, so vibrant!

Your eyes, how they'd sparkle

As your laughter filled the room like the tinkling of a thousand fluttering fairy wings.

Our former lives come flooding back in an instant.

My heart surges upon a tidal wave of heart-warming images.

If only they'd stay!

Their absence as heartwrenching as yours;

If only you could come home.

Yet it feels as if we are trapped on opposite sides of a fog

And I fall to my knees

Under the weight of this pain.

It's more than I can bear.

The droplets rain down from tear-soaked lashes,

As I cry out your name.

Can you hear me?

I wonder.

~

When apart we had always trusted the Moon

As She'd carry our whispered heartsongs to one another

Delivered ever safely as if on the cusp of a dream.

So, upon the evening breeze, I still send you my love.

Always.

I send my love to you.

My darling girl.

My Light.

My Universe.

Without you, I barely survive.

How does one live when their heart has been severed?

~

I breathe.

Somehow, I breathe.

Though they attempt to silence

To suffocate.

I push forward.

Though they do torment,

I have endured.

For you, I shall forever.

Though it is never enough.

So now I rise.

Despite everything, I will rise.

~

From your first moment, you were my greatest joy,

My most precious blessing.

My reason for being.

So, now, I turn to the Moon

And I implore her to deliver my love.

I beseech her to illuminate our paths.

One of redemption, justice,

Freedom.

Oh, Freedom!

A path home for you, My Angel baby;

A way to rectify all that they've done.

If only She could deliver you upon a moonbeam,

I promise I'd never let you go.

~

I've sought answers in every tangible way.

Then I turned to the stars,

And I plead for an answer!

Is it there amongst the cosmic dust-laden sky?

The solution to my constant endeavor?

That we will be reunited.

Somehow, someway.

Our day will come.

Until then I send my love to you

Upon the whisper of a moonbeam.

Always.

~

If you've enjoyed reading this, please consider giving it a "like" by clicking on the ❤️! If you'd like to read more of my writing, be sure to subscribe! Tips and pledges are voluntary, and so greatly appreciated!

I'm also on Medium.

performance poetry
1

About the Creator

Danielle Elizabeth Andrews

An avid reader who also loves writing about all sorts of things (Life, love, family, books, poetry, the world around us).

Follow me on: Twitter and Medium

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.