Poets logo

My Ravaged Heart

Will karma ever materialize?

By Danielle Elizabeth AndrewsPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
My Ravaged Heart
Photo by Kyle Johnson on Unsplash

Swaying,

My heart splaying,

Memories of us heavily weighing;

Of summer days, endlessly playing.

Now we're ever breaking

Weighted down while fathomlessly bending

Always trying

Why does it feel like I'm dying?

When will I be weightlessly flying?

All these days, nights, of endless crying.

Internally?

I'm liquifying.

Drowning in tears, no way of drying.

No one can see it.

So absorbed. They're too full to listen.

So consumed I can barely breathe.

Left with nothing but her imprints upon my heart.

These barely sustain.

Yet they are all that remain.

Destroying her memories from the start.

She is the Universe of my very heart.

My home.

They'll never know.

Never understand.

Too soulless to grasp.

The depths of their deception,

Their decimation.

I long for retribution, vengeance, clarity.

It never comes.

I wait for karma.

Sweet Karma,

How I long to wear her mantle.

Oh, to watch them shatter, scatter, cease to exist.

It would only be fair.

If only you knew what they have dared.

Always under the mantle, 'We care!'

But oh what a laughable concept!

Their true motives so tightly kept.

These creatures lack anything resembling a soul.

Those heartless, bitter things

Lurking on the periphery of my waking nightmare.

Their oral cavities foam in anticipation

Of destruction,

Devastation

Of children,

Of families.

So bold in their hypocrisy,

Their fallacy.

With no thought for those they defame.

All they have sought is monetary gain.

The darkness dwelling within them, an irreversible stain.

Once they are silenced, that is all that will remain.

Wish I could bury them under this mountain of pain.

~

If you've enjoyed reading this, please consider giving it a "like" by clicking on the ❤️! If you'd like to read more of my writing, be sure to subscribe! Tips and pledges are voluntary, and so greatly appreciated!

I'm also on Medium.

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Danielle Elizabeth Andrews

An avid reader who also loves writing about all sorts of things (Life, love, family, books, poetry, the world around us).

Follow me on: Twitter and Medium

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.