Poets logo

Winter Moon

Waiting for Sunrise

By Geoffrey Philp Published about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
Top Story - January 2023
54
Winter in Georgia

1

On a sleepless night,

my cat squats on my shoulder

gnawing on my dreams.

2

Awake or dreaming,

I leave my son’s empty room,

his bed still unmade.

3

Under the moon's spell,

I watch my father’s shadow

circling the lake’s rim.

4

He walks with purpose

like the man I once adored--

and not ten years dead.

5

Brimming with questions,

I whisper, “Dada, please tell

me, will my son live?”

6

While toads bellow, he

laughs. “That I’m dead doesn't mean

I know everything.”

7

"We are all living,”

he says, “We’re just thin membranes

to eternity”

8

Moonlight on the lake

folds the cricket’s chirps into

the lake’s mandala.

9

Then winter showers.

The moon sits on the wet grass

listens to barred owls.

10

At the hospital

doctors greet me by the stairs.

I'm a veteran.

11

Through rain-streaked windows

on a cramped hospital chair—

no stars in the sky

12

Nurses come and go

on nights when the only thing

longer is my grief.

13

The world is a blur.

After waiting for sunrise

my breath grows shorter.

14

My son‘s fever breaks.

I lift my head from prayers.

The first sign of light.

nature poetry
54

About the Creator

Geoffrey Philp

I am a Jamaican writer. I write poems (haiku & haibun), stories & essays about climate change, Marcus Garvey, music icons such as Bob Marley, and the craft of writing through personal reflection & societal engagement.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (24)

Sign in to comment
  • Judith P11 months ago

    It brought a lump to my throat as I envision the scene 🙃

  • Andres Dehnhardtabout a year ago

    Beautiful

  • Aeryana Castleyabout a year ago

    “We’re just thin membranes to eternity” evoked a deep pause. Incredible writing. "...On nights when the only thing longer is my grief." I think we all felt that. I feel the "first sign of light" along with the writer. Written with a wisened heart for having looked through the lens of generation and the veil of death.

  • Alison McBainabout a year ago

    This poem is such a beautifully written and emotional journey that takes the reader through the generations and ideas of family, life, and death. Congrats on your win!

  • Caroline Janeabout a year ago

    The connected spectrum of emotions and states of being is what makes this poem for me. Great stuff.

  • Megabout a year ago

    Congratulations on placing in the challenge! What a great poem!

  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    The sentiment really comes across, Congrats!

  • Fou Siya Fou Siyaabout a year ago

    The moon

  • VIDHYASAGARabout a year ago

    Congratulations due Got second place in full moon chalange ✨🤩✨🌠✨✨🌠✨😊✨💝💝🔥

  • Lori Meltonabout a year ago

    Brilliant work!!

  • Vadim Kaganabout a year ago

    Excellent!

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Excellent!!! Congratulations on the win!!!

  • E.K. Danielsabout a year ago

    I loved this and your use of metaphors throughout the piece. It painted a haunting and relatable story. Subscribed, and looking forward to more!

  • River Joyabout a year ago

    Beautiful

  • P. K. Ganiabout a year ago

    This is so well put together, congratulations

  • Testabout a year ago

    Great piece, you painted some lovely imagery.

  • JBazabout a year ago

    This si such a heartfelt, soulful poem. Love it. Congratulations

  • A.Rabout a year ago

    This is beautiful. Congrats!

  • Congratulations 🎉 🙏💯❤️🎯👍😉❤️‍🔥Awesome work ❗❗

  • F Cade Swansonabout a year ago

    beautiful

  • Allie Bickertonabout a year ago

    Congratulations, Geoffrey! This was wonderfully executed.

  • My Name Is Not Cypressabout a year ago

    It was such a journey reading this poem.

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Beautiful, haunting piece. Congratulations. It's well deserved.

  • Ward Norcuttabout a year ago

    Hey. Some very beautifully haunting imagery here. A deserving piece, Geoffrey

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.