Poets logo

Winter in Missouri

for cold days spent remembering

By Sofia MachadoPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Winter in Missouri
Photo by Aditya Vyas on Unsplash

running on

zero food

too many cigarettes

three glasses of wine

I’m reckless enough to

believe

that I don’t need gloves

to protect my hands

her hair slides through my fingers

the dye feeling more like conditioner

than stain

and I bask in the chemical smell just

as much as a bask

in her laughter

as she tells me about her day

school fights

work arguments

silly boys that think they love her

[how funny she thinks that is]

as her hair darkens

from blonde

to soot black

so do my fingers

and palms

and nails

my addled mind finds

that it looks like rot

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Sofia Machado

Here because I'm a compulsive writer that always has stuff to say. Recently published in root & branch and The Louisville Review. Poetry is my first love.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.