Poets logo

Winning at Life is in The Little Things.

A poem of hope.

By TheMillennialsJournalPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
Winning at Life is in The Little Things.
Photo by Alora Griffiths on Unsplash

Waking up to the sun rising again,

But I kept the blinds shut.

Walking down the road the birds were chirping.

But I put my earphones in.

There was a breathtaking skyline around me,

But I was glued to my social media.

My mother called,

I never answered.

Exercise was calling,

but the TV was calling louder.

A book to change me was waiting,

but I was only waiting to go to bed.

Laughing in moments of pure joy,

Taken for granted.

Chasing materialism,

I lost myself.

In losing myself, I found myself again.

I used to complain about my job,

I'm lucky I have a career.

I hated waking up early,

Now I thank the sun every day.

I disliked the things I didn't have,

If only I remembered the things I already had.

The breathtaking skyline is still there,

I learn to pause to appreciate the unique beauty it holds.

my mother still calls,

I always answer.

I never took the time to spend with the ones that matter most,

I am now present in every moment.

The birds singing, warm sun and smell of fresh flowers.

I notice more of what life has to offer.

When it feels like im losing,

I remember I'm winning.

It wasn't the money, shiny items and designer labels. It was the love, the journey, the feelings and the memories we create, the little things that make ourselves whole.

We weren't losing, we were winning all along.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

TheMillennialsJournal

Finding our feet can be hard when thrown into the 'adult' world... Do the 'adults' even know what the're doing?.

Here you will find a mixture of useful and relatable content you can take with you.

Come along for the ride! Welcome to 'adult'.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.