Poets logo

Windows of the soul

A poem

By Elocin-InobePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Windows of the soul
Photo by Stormseeker on Unsplash

I remember the first time I saw those eyes

I was beguiled and I couldn't look away

They widened with what I mistook for apprehension

It was simply a hunger that had been awakened

When I was in the spotlight of his smile

I believed he was the one for me

I didn't realize he were just baring his teeth

I had never been so captivated by a pair of dark brown eyes

Islands of sharp obsidian floating in oleander milk

It was all I could think about when I went to sleep

Are we afraid of the dark because we don't know whats there?

Or are we more afraid because we are not prepared?

I'm not the sort content with the undiscovered

What was he hiding, I couldn't help but wonder

He told me not to ask questions

About things you don't want to know the answers to

I wanted to know what was behind those eyes

Naively, I saw no reason to be afraid

I journeyed into the darkness to find out who he was

I discovered demons that didn't want to be found

They burst out of him and flocked into me

I saw his eyes for what they were

The eyes of a doe turned into the eyes of a predator

It felt like looking down the barrel of a gun

I looked away, I preferred the version of him in my head

I looked away but it was already to late by then

The image is ingrained in my retina

I can still see his blood lust behind my eyelids when I try to sleep

I still feel his tongue run along my petrified body

Like a wolf ravaging his prey

I was possessed by the man of my dreams

And a dream is another word for a nightmare

heartbreak

About the Creator

Elocin-Inobe

Hey there folks, I'm here to complain about how absurd all aspects of life has gotten. I hope to inspire my readers to reject this Kafkaesque, dystopian horror because we deserve so much better than whatever the fresh hell this is.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Elocin-InobeWritten by Elocin-Inobe

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.